2015 Bad Wax Heritage Football Mini Design and First TTM Requests

The Design

Original 1959 Topps Football Design:

a8e2eaca88a2cf4316ffb2f114050010Bart_Starr

The Front

IMG_5133

The idea behind this one was to come up with a vintage looking design that would resemble the 1959 Topps Football.  I went with the vintage cream boarder.  The name of the player with alternating blue and red lettering.  I placed the team logo in the top right corner, simply because placing it on the left would leave a bit cramped for the player to sign left to right.  Also had to offset the logo box so that it was not in the corner like some of my previous templates.  placing it in the corner of the autograph box would leave almost no room for the signature on one side.  Then went with position and team text on the bottom.  Again theses are done using business cards, (hence minis).

The Back

As for  the back of the card, I tried to also keep it similar to the 1959 design’s back.  Open football icon in upper left, full IMG_5134player name, position, and team in black (grayish) bar. Went with the shadow letters for the “Congrats” to mimic the first letter in the player bio on the back of the 1959 Topps design.  The rest of the caqrd, I flat out copied off of the baseball mini design, with the exception of the football guy.  I tried to put in a franchise question like you would find on the original card, but there just was not enough room.  But with nothing in that corner, I wasn’t sure what to do so I dropped the retro football guy in there.

Through the mail requests

The four I went with were:

Tedy Bruschi – I went to the University of Arizona at the same time as he did.  I had is autograph on a ticket from the U of A – Washington game where the Wildcats beat the then number one Huskies.  So this one was a no brainer for me.  I also feel as though his play was Hall of Fame worthy, but I am biased.

Clarence Scott – All Pro defensive back for the Browns.

Andre Reed – 2014 Hall of Fame inductee.

Charlie Trippi – 1968 Hall of Fame inductee, also member of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Tried to go with the retro logos if I could. Very excited about this lot of requests.  They all fall in my All Pro or HOF requirements for players.  Will let everyone know when they start coming back.

Leave a Reply

