Snow Day / Make Custom Cut Autograph Card Day – Burleigh Grimes

IMG_5194Today was a snow day for my wife and I.  As you may have heard, we got a little snow down in the Triangle.  The snow isn’t the big deal, the half inch of ice packing it down is.  It’s pretty crummy out there today.  Not a whole lot of travel out there. There are a lot of accidents out there so if you are in the area or dealing with what I am right now.  Relax, have some coffee and make some custom cards like I did.

Once I started making smaller cut autographs, I got asked to make a custom cut card from a reader.  He had a very small signature of FullSizeRenderBaseball Hall of Fame member Burleigh Grimes.  When I say small, I mean it!  Look at that picture to the right, it’s tiny! It’s about a little over an inch.  That is not a lot to work with.  From a consignment point of view I was terrified to even cut it.  The odds of ruining the the signature was extremely high.

I designed the 1953 Bad Wax Heritage Mini Cut card.  Even as small FullSizeRender (1)as that card is, it’s going to be huge compared to the cut signature, which as you can see the cut, is ridiculously tiny.  But yet I have paved on to complete the project.  I did run into an issue when I tried to apply adhesive to the back, it got stuck in the sticker maker.  So with a little help from my wife’s tweezers, I was able to get it out of the maker.

I put the card together, trimmed the edges and placed it in a one touch holder and violà, a tiny custom cut autograph card is made (see below):

FullSizeRender (2)FullSizeRender (3)

A little about Burleigh Grimes, he was the last legally allowed spitballer is baseball history.  His 270 wins puts him 33rd overall.  His career spanned 19 years from 1916 to 1934, most of it with the Brooklyn Robins.  He was elected into the Hall of Fame in 1964 by the Veterans Baseball committee.  Oh an his signatures that I found online, do tend to be small.  Let me know what you think about how this came out.

Leave a Reply

