Since Panini and Topps Won’t, Let’s Create an Original Vintage Set

Ok let’s get the I’m-sorry-I-haven’t-posted-in-forever-crap-out-of-the-way-now.  I have been truly uninspired for quite some time.  Actually I sat with this post open for a few hours before I figured out what exactly to write about.  It was about 5 minutes ago and an idea popped up in my head.  We have so many custom card makers online.  Some are experts, some are novice, all are creative.  I thought wouldn’t it be cool to come up with our own set.  One that everyone could contribute to.  I mean everyone has a specialty.  Mine is cut autographs.  Then I thought about the state of the industry, what is missing.  I believe what’s missing is an iconic set. What is the last truly iconic set you can remember and would want to crack a box of?

Since the companies aren’t going to give us a new “retro” set, and by that I don’t mean a re-hashed old set. I’m talking a brand new old timey design.  Something that hasn’t been done to death.  Imagine the next Gypsy Queen, Goudy, or Old Judge set.  Something new that could be updated on a year to year basis.  Of cards that we can make on our own. This is way too big for just one person though.  That’s why I am throwing it out to the custom card community.  Think of it as a blog bat around, but more interactive.

The way I see it we need the following:

  • Come up with a fictional company.  The product should be something weird, think along the line of Mayo Cut Plugs.candyforchildren_003
  • Come up with some kind of slogan (like the one above)
  • Determine the size of the card (3.5″ x 2.5″ standard size) or go smaller, like business card size.
  • Come up with a base set design template.
  • Come up with unique SPs or parallels (like cut autographs).
  • Everyone make and trade cards.

Maybe I’m just pie in the sky dreaming, or maybe it could be a lot of fun for everyone involved. What do you think?

5 thoughts on “Since Panini and Topps Won’t, Let’s Create an Original Vintage Set”

Leave a Reply

